Author Topic: Checking in from the NorCal fires.  (Read 1271 times)

iMaiden

• Epic Ruler
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPad Pro 12.9
  • Game Center: imaidenphone
  • Plus+: iMaiden
Checking in from the NorCal fires.
« on: October 10, 2017, 03:05:00 pm »
Some of you (oldsters) probably remember that I am a Sonoma County resident. I am fine, my cat is fine, my home is fine.

I do live in the evacuation area and pretty much everything between my apartment in Rincon Valley (Santa Rosa) to the Mark West Springs area (where I work) is completely gone. I've never seen anything like it. I've had no power for a couple of days and don't see that happening any time very soon so it's indoor camping for me and we are under a dusk to dawn curfew to try to curb looting. Although the police and fire presence from all over the state has been absolutely phenomenal.

I consider myself extremely fortunate at this time as I know several of my coworkers have lost their homes.

I'm sitting at a downtown coffee shop, where I can plug in my phone and iPad and get some wifi. Speaking of which...everyone run out today and buy yourself a cell phone battery backup--and remember to charge it. Finding a place 1) with power 2) where I can plug in for a little while, has been an extreme challenge. Oddly my phone was actually still losing power while plugged into my car...because the phone is old and it was getting flooded with texts and calls I guess when I wanted it to charge. Ok...now it really is time for a new phone. :P

There are currently 17 fires actively burning, I am saying a prayer for all of those displaced people and the firefighters working so hard to try to contain the fires.

Update: PG&E estimates power back on for me in 1 week. Ugh, my water heater is electric...note to self; must find a friend with a shower.
Goodbye We Rule!

Gatecon

• “Sir Pundemonium”
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
  • Game Center: Gatecon
  • Plus+: Gatecon
Re: Checking in from the NorCal fires.